Today at the Hotline

Suicide Hotline, may I help you? Hello? Hello? Can you hear me?
Yes.
I am listening.
You can’t help me.
I am listening.
(Silence)
Are you still there?
Yes. That’s the problem.
What’s the problem?
That I’m still here.
You sound like you’re in cave? Are you in a cave?
No.
The echo makes it hard for me to understand you.
I am not in a cave. I’m in a chamber.
Are you alone?
Aren’t we all?
I’m listening.
(Silence)
You can’t help me.
I’m listening.
Did you hear that?
What?
Hissing.
I hear something crackling. Are you eating popcorn?
What’s popcorn?
What’s crackling?
Nothing.
Now I can hear it. Hissing. Crackling.
Good. Then you’ll know.
Know what?
How.
How what?
How serious I am.
I’m not going to ask you about what. I am going to ask you something. I want an honest answer.
I’ll bite.
Do you have an asp?
(Silence)

August 30
30 B.C. Cleopatra, queen of Egypt and conquerer of Caesar and Anthony (and a few others) commits suicide. More

Leave a Reply

