Be good to someone today. You don’t know what’s happening to them.

I’ve done it hundreds of times. Seen a couple, walking hand-in-hand through the park, the man leaning over to speak into the ear of the woman, enjoying each other’s company.

 

I’ve been jealous.

 

I’ve seen a woman in Needless-Markup (you know, that place with the butterfly logo and the wonderful aroma of priceless perfume), her arms filled with shopping bags, and a stunning leather-stud-encrusted handbag (pocket book for you East Coast folks) draped over her shoulder.

 

I’ve been jealous.

 

What’s the point?

 

The couple I saw walking hand-in-hand through the park, in conversation? The man has beaten this woman, she had run out of the apartment but he caught her, and now was leading her back to the house, whispering that if she ran away again, she would never see her daughter.

 

The woman shopping in Needless-Markup? Addicted to shopping and not paying for half of her items. She has all the money a person could wish for, riches galore, but her husband has three mistresses in Cannes and has consistently asked for a divorce.

 

I shall always be grateful that I do not have to power to switch places with someone I see who might be a bit richer, thinner, happier or more in love than I am.

 

Rather I am grateful for what I have inside that makes me, me.

 

I am grateful that I have the power to change myself.

 

 

Leave a Reply

